weraprovider.blogg.se

Compare notepad++ to atom
Compare notepad++ to atom










compare notepad++ to atom

Note: Learned the hard way that you should always provide a title to the start command in the first argument, to ensure that the process to be run is not mistaken for the title. Otherwise, I could create a program or script to read all the arguments and concatenate them into a single argument, then launch atom with the constructed path. I could update the registry values to quote the file name argument:ĭrawback is I would have to do this for all extensions that use notepad that also doesn't quote. So rather than having one argument containing the path, arguments are split up using usual argument parsing rules. Is there some setting I could use to make this work?Īfter looking into it, it looks like the default shortcut for text files to open notepad does not quote the file path, apparently notepad allows for this and is able to open the file as expected. Opening from command line works fine like you would expect. Opens atom with the following open: C:\Program For example, opening a file with this path through Windows Explorer: C:\Program Files\Atom\test file.txt It treats each blob as a separate file name.

compare notepad++ to atom

It works for the most part, however I noticed it has problems with files containing spaces. (don't mind the path, I wanted a system level install) I did the replacement through the registry like usual: I like the VSCode editing experience so I was expecting something similar. I've used Notepad3 for the longest time, I don't like Notepad++, and now trying Atom. I'm trying out different editors to possibly replace notepad with, something light but with modern editing features (such as multiple cursors).












Compare notepad++ to atom